Farewell Brevard Community College

The close of this semester marks the end of my 3-year employment at Brevard Community College. I will miss students, faculty and staff at BCC. Students have been engaging and eager to learn about astronomy. Faculty and staff have always been very friendly and helpful.

The reason I, and others, won’t be back has to do with technical issues with Payroll. Issues with taxes and payroll have made to too difficult for out-of-state instructors to be employed at BCC. As a result, BCC has implemented a policy of hiring only in-state instructors. There is plenty of talent in Florida, so I am sure good instructors will be hired as replacements. I will hold out hope that this policy may change sometime in the future.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.